Texas Rodeo Cowboy Hall of Fame
Located in the Historic Fort Worth StockYards

Cody Lambert

Event:  Bull Riding

Cody Lambert was born on December 2, 1961and began his professional rodeo career in 1980.  In his second year in the PRCA he qualified for his first of nine National Finals Rodeo appearances in 1981, 85, 86, and 88-93.  His nine qualifications consisted of seven trips in bull riding and three trips in saddle bronc riding.  His other qualification were in both the bull riding and bronc riding in the same season. At the age of 19, Lambert qualified for the AJRA finals, NIRA finals and NFR all in the same year. 

During high school, Cody competed in bareback and saddle bronc riding, bull riding, steer wrestling, team roping, and calf roping all four years.  He made the National High School Finals three times in saddle bronc, once in bull riding, and once in steer wrestling.

Lambert was the Southwest Region Champion Saddle Bronc rider in 1980, '81, '82, and '83, Champion Bull Rider in 1983, and the All Around Champion in 1980, '82, and '83.  He was the NIRA National All Around Champion in 1982, and his rodeo team Sul Ross State University won the national championship in 1982-1983.  Lambert competed in the NIRA Finals in every event except calf roping and placed in every event except bareback riding.

Lambert was a PBR co-founder, and a three time PBR World Finals qualifier.  After the 1996 PBR World Finals he retired from competition and was awarded the PBR Ring of Honor - making him one of the first recipients along with Ted Nuce, Jim Shoulders and Harry Tompkins. During his career, Lambert also invented the protective vest that bull riders and other rodeo contestants use.

He now serves as Vice President of the PBR Board of Directors, as well as the organization's Livestock Director.  When the need arises, he serves as an event judge.  Cody takes pride in bringing the best bulls from all over the country and insuring that the highest caliber of bucking bulls is selected to compete in each PBR Built Ford Tough Series event.


Home   Dan Courmier   Cody Lambert   Glen McIlvain   Butch Kirby   Fred Whitfield   Jack Wiseman   Merrill Adams Ellis   Jayme Marcrum   Keith Chapman   Don McClure   Leonard McCravey   Corky Warren   Bull: V-61   Horse: Brown   David Burnham   Dave Jennings   Eugene Weal;ey   Harley May   Ora Altizer Riggs   Shawn McMullan   Reagon Walker   Tom Ray   Dr. Andrew Currie   Gail Woerner   Santa Rosa Palomino Club 

© 2012 Texas Rodeo Cowboy Hall of Fame, all rights reserved

Web Design by... Big Texas Designs